10 on the 10th – June 2017

Putting aside the Cousteau films, the last ten films I’ve watched trend toward middling-to-decent cult films. C.H.U.D. still entertains with Daniel Stern doing his best to steal the film from its monstrous creatures. Parents is unlike anything I’ve ever seen, a middle class nightmare that seems to channel David Lynch, John Waters, and Joe Dante all at once. And while still a terrible movie, I can’t say I disliked Suicide Squad nearly as much as I thought I would, although my opinion of Will Smith as being gratingly moralistic and woeful in his choice of projects remains unchanged. Highest marks go to 13 Steps of Maki, a solid, butt-kicking exercise in Japanese genre cinema sure to reappear here at MMC!

  1. 13 Steps of Maki (Makoto Naito, 1975)
  2. Beyond the Gates (Jackson Stewart, 2016)
  3. C.H.U.D. (Douglas Cheek, 1984)
  4. Voyage to the Edge of the World (Jacques Cousteau, Philippe Cousteau, and Marshall Flaum, 1975)
  5. World Without Sun (Jacques Cousteau, 1964)
  6. The Silent World (Jacques Cousteau and Louis Malle, 1956)
  7. Blue Demon vs. the Satanic Power (Chano Urueta, 1966)
  8. The Legend of Jimmy the Greek (Fritz Mitchell, 2009)
  9. Parents (Bob Balaban, 1989)
  10. Suicide Squad (David Ayer, 2016)

I’m happy to report that the rest of my time has been spent finishing the first two seasons of Lucha Underground, watching highlights of the Natsu Sumo Basho (the May Tournament), and … starting the first season Twin Peaks! I’ve never seen Twin Peaks, having made the assessment as a kid when it first came out that it just weird for weird’s sake. Fast forward twenty-seven years and I’m all about weird for weird’s sake! So far, so good. I could even see this Twin Peaks thing catching on some day, maybe finding a little cult following of its own!

Leave a Reply

