Mystery Blogger Award Nominations!

mystery-bloggerBig thanks to Charlene and her (Mostly) Classic Movie Reviews blog and to joey halphen of wolffian classics movies digest for both nominating MMC! for a Mystery Blogger Award (the creation of Okoto Enigma). Charlene keeps up a prolific pace over at C(M)CMR and provides plenty of great takes on many Criterion Collection titles, while joey provides elaborate multi-media posts on a great selection of movies, some bearing wacky”Cs” as well. MMC! is honoured to receive these nominations and is happy to find fellow travelers in cinematic devotion. Please head over to their sites and check them out!

As provided by Charlene, the rules to the Mystery Blogger Award are:

  1. Put the award logo/image on your blog
  2. List the rules.
  3. Thank whoever nominated you and provide a link to their blog.
  4. Mention the creator of the award and provide a link as well
  5. Tell your readers 3 things about yourself
  6. You have to nominate 10 – 20 people
  7. Notify your nominees by commenting on their blog
  8. Ask your nominees any 5 questions of your choice; with one weird or funny question (specify)
  9. Share a link to your best post(s)

Soooooo, 6 things about me (3 for Charlene, 3 for joey – they can sort out who gets what).

  1. My wife and I keep an informal list of potential “walk-out” songs should we ever become professional wrestlers or MMA fighters. She’s partial to House of Pain’s “Back From The Dead,” while I like The Jon Spencer Blues Explosion’s “Talk About The Blues,” Grand Buffet’s “Benjamin Franklin Music,” and the completely inappropriate, totally unusable “Bulldozer” by Goldishack Guerrillas. Much like The Last Waltz, these should all be “played loud.”
  2. I really enjoy Mexican cuisine and even cook it. Among other things, I’ve cracked making a good tamale dough and can bake a tasty piggy cookie.
  3. I nearly did a PhD in Film Studies. I was accepted into a PhD program but was concerned about the softness of the PhD market. When I saw how many candidates the program was graduating, the whole thing seemed irresponsible. While I’m sometimes frustrated with the difficulty of making time for movies with a family and a career, I appreciate not bouncing between sessional/associate professorships.
  4. I love aquariums. Not the little one in your family room (I’m sure it’s very nice), but big public aquariums. If I’m visiting a city with one and I have any free time, you can bet I’m there. I’d love to see the aquariums in Baltimore, Atlanta, Monterey Bay, Valencia, and Okinawa.
  5. Much of my reading time is spent on comic books. Right now, I’m a big fan of East of West, Manifest Destiny, Power Man and Iron FistFantasy Sports, The Manhattan Projects, and DMC, to name just a few.
  6. I watch Pardon the Interruption almost religiously. I love hearing Wilbon rip on Millennials, hearing Tony stump for Binghamton and Larry Brown, and seeing that Canadian flag get waved at the end of each show. I’m thoroughly annoyed when the show doesn’t record and I have to listen to the podcast. When I’m away for an extended period, I will binge watch them as soon as I get home. My son could say “Kornheiser” shortly after he could speak. My wife hates Dan Le Batard and the term “slurp.”

Now, on to questions! Charlene asks:

  1. casablancaWhat is one place on Earth you would like to visit but have not yet had the chance? Tokyo – the Hatsu, Natsu, or Aki basho (professional sumo tournaments), the Ghibli Museum, the Katsushika Shibamata Tora-san Museum, Ueno Park, Wrestle Kingdom, Hanayashiki Amusement Park, the National Film Centre, Tokyo Big Sight, and more!
  2. What is your favourite Academy Award Best Picture winner? Slimmer pickings than I expected, but Casablanca (Michael Curtiz, 1942) is an easy choice for me.
  3. What is one hairstyle you would like to try? My hair does its own thing. It can’t be stopped, only contained. I have too much respect for it to impose anything on it.
  4. What is one project or new hobby you would like to start? I’d love to organize a genre film festival as my city doesn’t have one, but it’s a lot work and I get grouchy.
  5. What is your favourite song? Mark Lanegan’s “Strange Religion” – “the song” of my wife and I.

And joey asks:

  1. royal-tenenbaumsWhat is your favorite movie all time? An impossible question! I could watch Wes Anderson’s The Royal Tenenbaums (2001) on a loop. (I’ve expressed my love for the film in another post.)
  2. Where in world you have not visited would you love to visit? A few years ago, my wife registered for a marathon in Reykjavik, Iceland, but we cancelled when, out of the blue, we bought our home. I’d like us to take that trip one day, maybe even go to the Icelandic Phallological museum.
  3. What is your favorite song all time? Answered above, so I’ll name my favourite song from a film and give a shout-out to the recently deceased Seijun Suzuki – the theme song to Tokyo Drifter (1966)!
  4. What is your favorite book all time? Another impossible question! I’ll pick Ficciones by Jorge Luis Borges.
  5. What is your favorite musical all time? I’m not sure if this refers to film or theatre. I’ll cover my bases and pick Hedwig and the Angry Inch.

I’ve previously said that I’m most proud of the Top Ten list I wrote for the 2015 Criterion Blogathon. To that, I’d add that I’m also very fond of my proposal for a Criterion set devoted to the National Film Board of Canada (still a great idea) and of the month’s worth of short film posts that followed highlighting the great work the NFB.

I never know who to nominate for these awards, not because I don’t know whose blogs I appreciate but because I don’t know who will actually participate and who doesn’t already seem swamped by these awards. So, instead, I’ll put out a general invitation to respond in the comments below to my favourite question to ask:

If your life had narration, who would you want to provide it?

4 thoughts on “Mystery Blogger Award Nominations!

  1. badblokebob February 24, 2017 / 7:09 am

    My life should be narrated by Alan Rickman, specifically in the guise of Marvin the Paranoid Android from Hitchhikers. I was going to say it’s obviously not a good pick as he’s no longer with us, but if anything now he’d have a better view.

    • spinenumbered February 24, 2017 / 1:07 pm

      A great voice and an excellent choice! I can’t believe this is the first Rickman selection I’ve come across!

  2. Cazbar Pintar February 24, 2017 / 11:57 pm

    James Mason – because he’s from Yorkshire too 👍

Leave a Reply

