Sunshine on a Cloudy Day

sunshine-bloggerBig thanks to the lovely Summer at Serendipitous Anachronisms for nominating MMC! for a Sunshine Blogger Award! Serendipitous Anachronisms not only boasts a truly wonderful title and a great banner image, but provides a consistently engaging one-two punch of philosophical deconstruction and pop culture enthusiasm. Needless to say, MMC! is proud to receive this nomination from the blogathon powerhouses that are Summer Reeves and Serendipitous Anachronisms!  Thanks!

Now, lets answer Summer’s questions!

  1. Are there any films that you adore that you do not blog about because they do not fit the focus of your blog? My blog focuses on films that I feel deserve expansive hard media editions and so I end up avoiding titles that have already been released by the labels I emulate. I’ve tried to carve out a little space to talk about those absent films through Letterboxd reviews, “10 on the 10th” posts, and accepting the occasional invitation to guest on a podcast (more on that in future posts), but all efforts are exclusionary by nature and so I take comfort that a lot of other people are attending to the films missing from MMC!
  2. If you could watch only one movie for the rest of your life, which movie would you choose and why? Faced with this question, my first reaction is always Ivan Reitman’s Ghostbusters (1984). It has a great cast, hilarious performances, action, scares, a great soundtrack, immense quotability, and the added benefit of being a film my wife would watch with me for the rest of both our lives.
  3. Are you currently reading anything? Amelie Hastie’s BFI monograph on The Bigamist, The Cult Film Reader by Ernest Mathijs and Xavier Mendik, André Bazin’s What is Cinema?, DC Comics’ 1980s Weird War Tales featuring The Creature Commandos, and Ashwin Pande and Arjuna Susini’s Mistry, P.I.
  4. Do you have creative outlets other than blogging? My work requires a fair amount of analytical thinking and so I find there is a creative component in my job’s problem-solving. Sadly, the demands of life has allowed old pastimes like drawing to recede from view.
  5. Do you prefer fruity treats or chocolately treats? Chocolately, all the way.
  6. What is the one seriously underrated film you wish everyone would watch? I think Kihachi Okamoto is a seriously underrated filmmaker and his masterpiece, The Elegant Life of Mr. Everyman (1963), seems to be virtually unknown (at least in the West).
  7. Coffee or tea? Pepsi.
  8. How did you settle on your blog name? I had a few in mind and ran them by a friend who immediately responded with, “You should call it Make Mine Criterion!” It wasn’t one of my options but I was hooked.
  9. If you could have any superpower or magical ability, what would it be? Time control because there’s too many movies to watch, too many books to read, and never enough time.
  10. Who do you think has the best speaking voice in Hollywood? I’ve always included in any blog award questionnaire the query, “If your life required narration, who would you want to provide it?” I’m surprised no one has ever chosen Werner Herzog, as he would be my choice.  Maybe it’s not the best, but it’s certainly the one I most enjoy listening to, so he gets my vote. (Pure voice alone, I may have to give it to Alec Baldwin.)
  11. If your home had to be decorated to fit in the world of a specific film, which film would you dress your living space? I certainly see the appeal of the Addams Family’s mansion – stately, eccentric, discouraging of visitors.

Thanks once again to Serendipitous Anachronisms for the love!  Hey dear readers, why not head over to Summer’s blog?  You’ll like what you find.

Leave a Reply

