A Liebster of My Own!

liebster2Big thanks to Blogferatu for the Liebster Award nomination!  This is MMC!‘s first and I’m really glad it came from Blogferatu who writes a great horror-themed blog and whose bio suggests a kindred spirit.  I too love tattoos (just not on me) and the idea of being a Horror Host (or any kind of movie host for that matter – watch you back Robert Osborne!).

A Liebster Award is essentially a friendly chain letter/questionnaire shared between small or newer blogs to provide encouragement, raise their respective profiles, and help everyone get to know each other a little better.  MMC! isn’t new but it is small, and I’m happy to participate and thankful of the nomination.  Blogferatu has been kind enough to post some rules for Liebster Award nominations, which are:

  1. Thank the blogger(s) that nominated you;
  2. Answer the 11 questions the blogger gives you;
  3. Nominate up to 11 bloggers of your own choosing (blogs should have fewer than 200 followers);
  4. Let the nominees know (in a comment) of their nomination;
  5. Give them 11 questions of their own.

That sounds reasonable enough to me, and so I’ll proceed accordingly.

Having already thanked Blogferatu (be sure to click that link and check out his blog!), I’ll move on to answering his questions.

  1. What’s your favourite movie theatre and why?  La Filmothèque du Quartier Latin in Paris, where I saw Elia Kazan’s East of Eden (1955) for the first time.  That little theatre felt like the Platonic ideal of snobby movie watching.
  2. What’s the most overrated horror movie you’ve ever seen?  As much as I like William Friedkin, The Exorcist (1973) has never done anything for me.
  3. Most underrated?  Sean Byrne’s The Loved Ones (2009) has a generally good reputation in horror circles, but should be known much more widely as a contemporary horror gem.
  4. What horror movie do you refuse to watch ever and why?  I don’t think I’ve ever seen any of the Nightmare on Elm Street films and have no interest in any of them.  Freddy just looks too silly.
  5. What is your favourite movie monster?  Can be general or specific.  It’s hard to come up with a better design than the Gill-man.  Those dead, beady eyes; those long webbed, clawed hands; the plated body; the iridescence of its skin – it’s an utterly perfect design.
  6. What’s your favourite movie villain death?  There are probably ones that I like more, but I can’t bring any to mind ahead of Judge Doom in Who Framed Roger Rabbit? (Robert Zemeckis, 1988).  I remember seeing that in the theatre when I was a kid and being blown away.
  7. Who is your favourite horror author?  When I was 18 or 19, I read everything by H. P. Lovecraft.  I’ve never revisited those stories, but they’ve always stuck with me.
  8. Favourite story or novel by that author?  The Shadow over Innsmouth.
  9. What’s the best adaptation you’ve ever seen?  Can but does not have to be the author from #7 (or even horror).  Probably the most difficult question asked.  I do love Michael Winterbottom’s Tristram Shandy: A Cock and Bull Story (2005).
  10. The worst?  Stephen Norrington’s The League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (2003) butchers Alan Moore’s source material at Zack Snyder-levels.  I keep watching it though, imagining what could have been, and I will say that it does have a good Mr. Hyde.
  11. How important are previews to your movie-going experience?  Previews more often disqualifies a film from viewing, rather than inspiring interest (although that occasionally happens too).  I tend to rely more on print reviews and knowledge of the film’s contributors.

Next up, my nominees, some of whom have been appreciated supporters of MMC! and all of whom have been inspirations to MMC!:

  • The Telltale Mind – A great supporter whose fabulous “Issue by Issue” discussions of comic books makes me nostalgic for my own modest days of writing on comics.  The current focus on Kamandi is especially appreciated and I can’t wait for a discussion on issue #15!
  • Girls Do Film – Miss V has always left MMC! the kindest comments of all and her blog is always a feast for both the eyes and the mind.
  • Film Grimoire – Anna has been a long supporter of MMC! and her own blog exhibits some great taste in movies and an appreciation of great short films (something I particularly value).  It also may have the best banner image ever.
  • In the Good Old Days of Classic Hollywood – Crystal’s take on classic cinema is always worth a read and I really appreciate her efforts to include MMC! in her blogathons, even when I can’t find an appropriate film and can’t participate.
  • Criterion Affection – Michele’s Criterion-focused blog was one of the first I started reading/following and her artwork for each title discussed is wonderful.  Be sure and listen to her recent appearance on the Criterion Close-Up Podcast!
  • nitrateglow – A favourite of mine.  Great quotes, plenty of blogathoning, and impeccable taste in cinema!

And the questions for my nominees:

  1. Do you own a Criterion Collection DVD or Blu-ray and, if so, which is your favourite?
  2. If you were asked to provide a commentary or an interview on a special edition release of a film, what film would you want to be talking about?
  3. What is your favourite Blu-ray or DVD special feature?  (I’m looking for a specific extra from a specific film.)
  4. Where do you prefer to sit in a movie theatre?
  5. Who is your favourite Muppet?
  6. What movie premise (not a genre) do you find irresistible?  (For example, I’m a sucker for reunions, black and white widescreen, direct address, and documentaries about sea life.)
  7. Who would you most want to spend an evening with talking about movies one-on-one?
  8. What is your favourite short film?  (Remember: When in doubt, Looney Tunes count!)
  9. What better-looking actor would play you in a movie?
  10. What non-horror movie do you find terrifying?
  11. If your life had narration, who would you want to provide it?

Like Blogferatu, I’d also appreciate nominees posting their answers as comments to this post.  I hope they like being nominated and the questions provided.  I’d certainly like to see their answers.

(In fact, any readers or followers who’d like to post their answers to these questions are welcome to do so as well.  MMC! has been lucky enough to have received encouragement from a number of bloggers and the only reason I haven’t nominated them is because they seem to have followings that put them outside of the Award’s parameters, but that doesn’t mean I wouldn’t love to hear their answers as well!  Anyone wanting to offer their answers to the above are welcome to comment below!)

8 thoughts on “A Liebster of My Own!

  1. The Telltale Mind May 25, 2016 / 2:58 pm

    Cheers! Here are my answers:

    1. No. When I was younger I could never afford them and now I buy too much as it is.
    2. The Wolf Man or The Creature From the Black Lagoon.
    3. Can’t think of one.
    4. The very back, aisle seat.
    5. Kermit. Or Sweetums maybe.
    6. Black and White widescreen. Torrid dramas if possible.
    7. Elwy Yost
    8. Since you mentioned it, Looney Tunes. Any Looney Tunes is great.
    9. Richard Burton or Burt Lancaster
    10. Can’t think of one.
    11. Fred Astaire

    • spinenumbered May 25, 2016 / 3:04 pm

      Thanks! And Elwy Yost – that is an unexpected and very particular pick! TVO shout out!

      • The Telltale Mind May 25, 2016 / 3:14 pm

        The man knew everything there was to know about film and interviewed not only the stars, but people who operated cameras and lights, cinematographers and more. He got the stories on everyone and everything. I could talk to him for months and not know everything he knows.

  2. nitrateglow May 25, 2016 / 5:44 pm

    Thanks for the nomination, friend!
    1. I own about fifteen Criterion editions. It’s hard to pick a favorite, but for me it has to be The Red Shoes. Great film, great restoration, great bonus material.
    2. Oh God, that’s such a hard question, because I have been tempted to record commentaries for so many of my favorites! I’m going to go with Miyazaki’s 1984 film Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind, because you could get so much out of the film’s production history, how it differs from the manga upon which it was based, and how the film fits in Miyazaki’s overall oeuvre.
    3. I’m a sucker for audio commentaries in general and sorry, I cannot pick just one so here are a few I like returning to regularly: the Bruce Eder commentary for the 1932 The Most Dangerous Game, Ian Christie commentary for The Red Shoes, Scott Macqueen commentary for the 1925 The Phantom of the Opera (love the snark aimed at the hack director Rupert Julian or turns of phrase like “a fate worse than dialogue”!), Malcolm McDowell and Nick Redman commentary for A Clockwork Orange, and Russell Lees and John Wilders commentary for Laurence Olivier’s Richard III.
    4. The middle, like dead center.
    5. I think Gonzo, mainly because of the song “I’m going to go back there someday” from the 1979 The Muppet Movie—a movie which is much more melancholy and wistful than you would expect!
    6. Surrealist flourishes, black comedy, physical comedy, elegiac looks at a bygone era, unlikeable/villainous protagonists, examination of evil, good-inclined protagonists who struggle to overcome their own uglier sides, fairy tale adaptations, examination of art and artists, expressionistic flourishes
    7. Martin Scorsese
    8. It’s either Meshes of the Afternoon or La Jetee. Both are so surreal and beautiful.
    9. They’d probably get someone like Kirsten Dunst to play me honestly
    10. Chicken Little
    11. Malcolm McDowell would be cool

    • spinenumbered May 25, 2016 / 6:13 pm

      I don’t know why Malcolm McDowell made me LOL, but he did. Great answers! Thanks!

      • nitrateglow May 25, 2016 / 6:21 pm

        He’s got a great voice. Like he’s been in some terrible films, but his presence alone makes it worth it for me lol! And thank you so much for the nomination and kind comments!

  3. Silver Screenings May 26, 2016 / 6:13 pm

    Congrats on your well-deserved Liebster! And thanks for sharing all these tidbits about yourself. I am very pleased to see Gill-man tops the list of Favourite Movie Monsters. 🙂

  4. Anna (Film Grimoire) June 12, 2016 / 9:17 am

    I am super duper late on this, but thanks so much for nominating me! Made my day! 😀

Leave a Reply

