The Great Villain Blogathon

BannerWe’re pleased to announce our participation in The Great Villain Blogathon, running April 13-17, 2015.  Over here at MMC!, we’ll be discussing John Gilling’s The Flesh and the Fiends (1960), a ghastly, cold-blooded take on the Burke and Hare murders, where black and white cinematography proves no impediment to producing an effectively lurid and grisly film.  And with less than admirable characters played by Peter Cushing, Donald Pleasence, Billie Whitelaw, George Rose, and Reneé Houston, villains easily seem to outnumber what passes for heroes in this tale of scientific idealism and grave-robbery.

Big thanks to hosts Ruth of Silver Screenings, Karen of Shadows & Satin, and Kristina of Speakeasy for making this happen and allowing us to take part.  Head over to The Great Villain Blogathon to peruse the other contributors and topics and maybe even sign-up to participate as well!

5 thoughts on “The Great Villain Blogathon

  1. aaronwest February 21, 2015 / 12:56 pm

    Thanks for the heads up. I applied and chose Raymond from The Vanishing (1988) as my first choice and The Blob (1958) as my second. Never done a Blogathon before so this should be cool.

    • aaronwest February 21, 2015 / 2:39 pm

      Scratch that, reverse it. I’m doing the 1958 and 1988 Blob so this will be a Blobathon for me.

      • spinenumbered February 21, 2015 / 3:05 pm

        I like those choices. It raises an interesting question – what is your favourite Criterion villain? It’s a tough question, as the Collection is full of anti-heroes that may need to be distinguished. My immediate thoughts go to Mr. Scratch in The Devil and Daniel Webster, Ben in Man Bites Dog, Godzilla, the Blob, Alex Linden in Bad Timing, Ryunonsuke in The Sword of Doom.

      • aaronwest February 21, 2015 / 3:22 pm

        My first thought was Ryu fro Sword of Doom when I saw your post, but I think it has to be Harry Lime. If I owned that OOP Blu-Ray, I would have chosen him instead (although someone else probably has).

      • spinenumbered February 21, 2015 / 4:23 pm

        Harry Lime! What a great choice! I can’t believe I missed that.

Leave a comment